Subproject 6

Evidence in Citizen Science

Between Non-Certified Expertise, Professional Supervision and Mechanization


Prof. Dr. Sabine MaasenDr. Sascha Dickel

Dipl.-Soz. Andreas Wenninger


The participation of lay people in research has long been considered difficult to reconcile with the self-conception of modern science. Under the heading of citizen science a socio-epistemic configuration is emerging that is in fact based on the involvement of lay people in the research process. This opens up new functional relationships, in which knowledge is coproduced, thereby testing new forms of division of labor and established roles in knowledge production. Digitalization is regarded as a technological driver of current citizen science, enabling participation through novel infrastructures and interfaces. Citizen science thus links up to science policy expectations as regards the democratization of science, as well as to a participatory means of meeting societal challenges.

While previous research on the subject focused on normative questions, the planned project puts epistemic problems and their social adaptation at the center of analysis. We ask how evidence practices in citizen science actually work –  in light of the involvement of actors who do not belong to certified scientific communities. (How) can this be considered as producing both credible and action-orienting knowledge, as the social circle of those participating in research now exceeds the scientific context? Prior research suggests examining three types of evidence practices, with which the specific socio-epistemic fragilities of citizen science are dealt with, namely 1) the attribution of non-certified expertise, 2) professional supervision by certified experts and 3) and the “technicization” of knowledge production which plugs deficits in expertise.

Since the research project aims to disclose the as yet little explored interaction mechanisms in a new field of research, a qualitative approach suggests itself. Eight typologically selected citizen science projects will be investigated multi-methodically by document analysis, focused ethnographies, and interviews, as well as being evaluated interpretatively. Subsequently, in a transdisciplinary workshop inciting the actors of the studied projects to enter a dialogue with external actors, we will analyze how evidence is constructed, maintained, or disputed. The project promises not only a better understanding of recent versions of participative knowledge production, but also insight into the constitution of highly technicized knowledge societies, in which participation is increasingly affected by epistemic questions, and is also increasingly associated with technology use and associated processes of technicization.

Teilprojekt 6

Evidenz in der Citizen Science

Zwischen nicht-zertifizierter Expertise,
professioneller Kontrolle und Technisierung


Prof. Dr. Sabine MaasenDr. Sascha Dickel

Dipl.-Soz. Andreas Wenninger


Die Beteiligung von Laien an der Forschung galt lange als kaum vereinbar mit dem Selbstverständnis moderner Wissenschaft. Dies beginnt sich jedoch zu wandeln. Unter dem Stichwort Citizen Science etabliert sich gegenwärtig ein sozioepistemisches Arrangement, das auf der Partizipation von Laien im Forschungsprozess basiert. Damit bilden sich neue funktionale Beziehungen heraus, in denen Wissen koproduziert wird, neue Formen der Arbeitsteilungen erprobt und etablierte Rollenverständnisse problematisiert werden. Als technologischer Treiber aktueller Citizen Science gilt die Digitalisierung mit den durch sie ermöglichten Beteiligungsinfrastrukturen. Mit Citizen Science verbinden sich wissenschaftspolitische Erwartungen einer Demokratisierung von Wissenschaft und einer partizipativen Bewältigung gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen.

Während die bisherige Forschung zur Thematik eher auf normative Fragen (etwa bzgl. der Gestaltung der Partizipation) fokussierte, stellt das geplante Projekt epistemische Probleme und ihre soziale Bearbeitung in den Mittelpunkt der Analyse. Gefragt wird, wie Evidenzpraktiken in der Citizen Science funktionieren – angesichts einer Beteiligung von Akteuren und Akteurinnen, die nicht zu zertifizierten wissenschaftlichen Professionsgemeinschaften gehören. (Wie) kann Wissen auch dann als glaubwürdig und handlungsorientierend erachtet werden, wenn der soziale Kreis der Beteiligten an der Forschung den berufswissenschaftlichen Kontext überschreitet? Der Stand der Forschung legt es nahe, insbesondere drei Typen von Evidenzpraktiken in den Blick zu nehmen, mit denen die spezifischen sozioepistemischen Fragilitäten von Citizen Science bearbeitet werden, nämlich 1) die Attribution von nicht-zertifizierter Expertise, 2) die professionelle Kontrolle durch zertifizierte Experten und 3) die Technisierung der Wissensproduktion, welche Defizite in der Expertise abfedert.

Da das beantragte Forschungsvorhaben darauf abzielt, noch kaum erschlossene Interaktionsmechanismen in einem neuen Phänomenbereich offenzulegen, bietet sich eine qualitative Vorgehensweise an. Acht typologisch ausgewählte Citizen Science-Projekte werden mithilfe von Dokumentenanalysen, fokussierten Ethnografien und Interviews multimethodisch untersucht und interpretativ ausgewertet. Im Setting eines transdisziplinären Workshops, der Akteure aus den untersuchten Projekten mit externen Akteuren ins Gespräch bringt, soll anschließend untersucht werden, wie Evidenz kommunikativ konstruiert, behauptet oder bestritten wird. Das Projekt verspricht nicht nur ein besseres Verständnis rezenter Varianten partizipativer Wissensproduktion, sondern auch Einsichten in die Konstitution hochtechnisierter Wissensgesellschaften, in denen Partizipation zunehmend auch epistemische Fragen berührt und zudem immer stärker auch mit Techniknutzung und damit einhergehenden Technisierungsprozessen verknüpft wird.