Subproject 3

„How Safe Is Safe Enough?“

Practices of Evidence for Technical Safety in Times of Societal Uncertainty


Prof. Dr. Karin Zachmann

Dr. des. Stefan Esselborn

Johannes Günther


The project will analyze practices of evidence concerning technical safety in both German states between the 1950s and the 1980s, using two specific technological fields – automobiles and nuclear power – as case studies. As key technologies of the atomic and the consumer age, both fields have had a substantial part in transforming the idea of safety/security into a societal core value. We start from the assumption that within the context of German post war history and the Cold War ever more safety-relevant areas were identified. This process of ‘securitization’ was closely interlinked with a ‘scientification’ of technical safety.

The project is conceptualized as an entangled history – taking into account not only these two different branches of technology, but also both German states – thus making it possible to examine how practices of evidence in the field of technical safety are entwined with political power, social structures and shared (engineering) traditions. Making use of the chiasmus “practicing evidence – evidencing practice”, the project aims to study discourses as well as concrete practices of technical safety as an increasingly important precondition for the societal acceptance of technology.

Starting in the late 1960s, this acceptance has become increasingly fragile, turning the question of technical safety into a publicly contested and highly sensitive issue. The ensuing development of new practices of evidence in this field can neither be ascribed exclusively to technical experts, nor to public and political demands alone. Instead, we argue that various actors from both sides have negotiated new standards and practices in a shared “trading zone”. To what extent this has resulted in the emergence of new methods and forms for presenting and legitimizing safety-relevant knowledge (e.g., accident statistics, crash tests, or test simulations), whether and how these have migrated between different fields and disciplines, and whether they have given rise to new forms of uncertainty, are some of the central questions to be addressed.

The project does not intend to recount the history of technical safety per se. Rather, we will focus on the concrete actions and processes of negotiation, in which the knowledge demanded, accepted, or rejected for the identification of safety-relevant fields, and the preparation and implementation of decisions to minimize expected dangers qualifies as bona fide evidence.

Teilprojekt 3

„How safe is safe enough?“

Evidenzpraktiken technischer Sicherheit in Zeiten gesellschaftlicher Verunsicherung


Prof. Dr. Karin Zachmann

Dr. Stefan Esselborn

Johannes Günther


Das Projekt untersucht Evidenzpraktiken der technischen Sicherheit im geteilten Deutschland von den 1950er-Jahren bis in die 1980er-Jahre am Beispiel von zwei Technikbereichen, dem Kraftfahrzeugwesen und der Kerntechnik. Als Schlüsseltechnologien des Atom- und Konsumzeitalters trugen diese beiden Bereiche erheblich zur Entwicklung der Vorstellung von ‚Sicherheit‘ als einer zentralen gesellschaftlichen Wertidee bei. Wir gehen davon aus, dass die im Kontext der deutschen Nachkriegsgeschichte und des Kalten Krieges erfolgende Versicherheitlichung von Technikbereichen, d.h. die Identifizierung immer neuer sicherheitsrelevanter Bereiche, mit der Verwissenschaftlichung technischer Sicherheit einherging.

Der gewählte Zugang über eine Verflechtungsgeschichte, die zwei verschiedene Technikbereiche in den beiden deutschen Staaten in den Blick nimmt, macht es möglich, Evidenzpraktiken der technischen Sicherheit in ihrer Verknüpfung mit den jeweiligen politischen Machtverhältnissen, Gesellschaftsstrukturen und gemeinsamen Traditionen zu bearbeiten. Ziel ist es, mit Hilfe des Chiasmus practicing evidence – evidencing practice, sowohl die Sicherheitsdiskurse als auch die konkreten Praktiken der technischen Sicherheit als zunehmend wichtiger werdende Bedingung für die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz von Technik zu untersuchen.

Besonders seit Ende der 1960er-Jahre wurde diese Akzeptanz zunehmend brüchig, wodurch sich das Problem der technischen Sicherheit zu einem brisanten gesellschaftlichen Konfliktfeld entwickelte. Dabei ist die Entwicklung neuer Evidenzpraktiken technischer Sicherheit weder allein auf technische Expertise, noch ausschließlich auf politische und gesellschaftliche Anforderungen zurückzuführen. Vielmehr – so die These des Teilprojekts – wurde Evidenz für technische Sicherheit in einer trading zone von unterschiedlichen Akteuren aus diesen beiden Bereichen gemeinsam ausgehandelt. Gefragt wird insbesondere, ob sich bereichsübergreifende Darstellungsformen und Verfahren entwickelt haben, die sicherheitsrelevantes Wissen anschaulich und glaubwürdig machen (z.B. Unfallstatistiken, Crashtests, Testsimulationen), und ob dabei neue Unsicherheiten entstanden sind.

Das Projekt beabsichtigt nicht, eine Geschichte technischer Sicherheit per se zu schreiben. Stattdessen konzentriert es sich auf die Handlungs- und Aushandlungsprozesse, in denen das Wissen, das für die Identifizierung sicherheitskritischer Bereiche und für die Vorbereitung und Durchsetzung von Entscheidungen zur Reduzierung von erwarteten Gefahren gefordert, akzeptiert oder auch verworfen wird, das Qualitätsmerkmal der Evidenz erlangt.