Aims

DFG Research Unit 2448

Practicing Evidence – Evidencing Practice


The aim of our research group is to investigate the practices of evidence within the information society. Our point of departure is the observation that evidence as socially accepted, established knowledge originates in processes of negotiation. By combining history of science, sociology, philosophy, economics, environmental studies, and communication studies our group will examine how factual knowledge (data, results, findings etc.) attains the status of evidence, and in which relevant contexts this evidence influences decisions. Transversing disciplinary habits of perception, the increasing significance and functionalization of evidence in the scientific community will be analysed from both synchronic and diachronic perspectives.

In respect of this development, the 20th century marks an important turning point as well as starting point for our research group. Knowledge-based action is increasingly expected in multiplying areas of society, the significance of applied research is growing, and the pressure on science to provide legitimacy in view of the burgeoning discourse on risk, uncertainty and lack of knowledge is becoming imperative. All of these factors raise the stakes for evidence, and radically alter the interlinked processes of its production and use.

We circumscribe the specific areas of negotiation of evidence with the concept of ‚socio-epistemic configuration’, which includes several entities (agents, discourses, materialities, institutions, etc.). This broader perspective lies in the interlinking of contexts production and use, in which the chiasmus of practicing evidence and evidencing practice is at the heart of our study, and which we analyse with regard to three primary development processes in the information society: namely, technological advances, prediction, and coproduction as condition and driver of practices of evidence.

It is precisely at the interface between science and society that the ambiguity of the term ‘evidence’ is exposed, and whose semantic instability and flexibility is exploited in our research. All eight projects deal with specific instances of evidence generation that share one similarity: In each case, there are phenomena in which evidence is either desirable or dubious. Common questions, ideas, and modes of access generate synergies in the analysis of the selected examples. Our research group concentrates its collaboration on current and relevant cases of the postmodern information society via an interdisciplinary approach, which should ultimately provide transdisciplinary answers.

Zielsetzung

DFG Forschergruppe 2448

Evidenzpraktiken in Wissenschaft, Technik, Medizin und Gesellschaft


Das Ziel der Forschergruppe ist es, Evidenzpraktiken in der Wissensgesellschaft zu untersuchen. Unser Ausgangspunkt ist die Feststellung, dass Evidenz als sozial konsentiertes, gesichertes Wissen in Aushandlungsprozessen entsteht. Die Gruppe wird in der Verknüpfung von geschichtswissenschaftlichen mit soziologischen, philosophischen, wirtschafts-, umwelt- und kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Perspektiven untersuchen, wie Tatsachenkenntnisse (Daten, Befunde, Feststellungen etc.) das Qualitätsmerkmal der Evidenz erlangen und wie die angebotene Evidenz in relevanten Kontexten Entscheidungen beeinflusst. Quer zu den disziplinären Wahrnehmungsgewohnheiten werden sowohl die in der Wissensgesellschaft steigende Signifikanz, als auch die Funktionalisierung von Evidenz in synchroner und diachroner Perspektive analysiert.

Das 20. Jahrhundert markiert in dieser Entwicklung eine bedeutende Zäsur, an der die Arbeit der Forschergruppe ansetzt. Die Erwartung an wissensbasiertes Handeln in immer mehr Gesellschaftsbereichen nimmt zu, die Bedeutung von Forschung mit unmittelbarem Anwendungsbezug wächst und die Legitimationszwänge der Wissenschaft in Anbetracht zunehmender Diskurse um Risiko, Unsicherheit und Nichtwissen werden dringender. All das sind Faktoren, die die Bedeutung von Evidenz potenzieren und die miteinander verknüpften Verfahren ihrer Gewinnung und Anwendung verändern.

Die spezifischen Handlungs- und Aushandlungsbereiche der Evidenz erfassen wir mit dem Konzept des ‚sozioepistemischen Arrangements‘, das unterschiedliche Entitäten (Akteure, Diskurse, Materialitäten, Institutionen usw.) umfasst.Die gemeinsame Perspektive liegt in der Verflechtung von Herstellungs- und Anwendungszusammenhängen, die wir als Chiasmus von practicing evidence und evidencing practice ins Zentrum unserer Untersuchung stellen und in Hinblick auf drei grundlegende Entwicklungsprozesse in der Wissensgesellschaft erforschen. Das sind Technisierung, Prädiktion und Ko-Produktion als Voraussetzungen und Treiber von Evidenzpraktiken. Gerade an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zeigt sich die Mehrdeutigkeit des Begriffs der ‚Evidenz‘, deren changierende Semantik und Flexibilität in unserer Forschung nutzbar gemacht wird.

Die acht Projekte bearbeiten konkrete Fälle von Evidenzpraktiken, die eine Gemeinsamkeit teilen: Stets geht es um Phänomene, in denen Evidenz ein Desiderat darstellt oder fraglich geworden ist. Gemeinsame Fragestellungen, Grundideen und Zugangsmodi setzen Synergien bei der Erforschung des gewählten Ensembles von Fallbeispielen frei. Die Forschergruppe richtet ihre Zusammenarbeit auf aktuelle Problemlagen der spätmodernen Wissensgesellschaft, denen sie sich interdisziplinär nähert, um sie schließlich transdisziplinär beantworten zu können.