TP8: Obviously excellent?

Evidence practices in preparing scientific research and biographies when applying for ERC Starting and Consolidator Grants


Prof. Dr. Ruth Müller(Science and Technology Research, TUM): Associated


Subproject 8 focuses on evidence practices in the evaluation of scientific quality for research funding purposes. In the contemporary scientific system, high scientific quality – often framed as excellence – has become both a key goal of scientific and political activities and the center of many controversies How, for example, can excellence be defined, measured, compared and made  evident?

In phase 1 of the research unit, the associated project AP2 studied how reviewers for the European Research Council (ERC) perceive and navigate scientific evaluation process at the ERC and  which norms and values guide their evidence practices and decision-making processes. AP2 showed a significant tension between reviewers, on the one hand, promoting a vision of excellence as a  deeply heterogenous and context-dependent quality of scientific work when they discussed excellence in the abstract during the interview. On the other hand, they recounted a focus on  standardized performance indicators when they described how they actually evaluated proposals and CVs during the ERC assessment process.

In the subproject TP8 for phase 2 of the research unit, we are now shifting our focus of study to the evidence practices scientists engage in when they prepare applications for the ERC. We will  conduct this analysis against the backdrop of broader dynamics and transformations in contemporary science that lead to processes which de- and restabilize notions of scientific quality –  processes, for which the creation of the ERC itself is indicative.

Reviewers and applicants alike need to face the challenge of how to make the quality of research ideas and scientific biographies evident. Subproject 8 will analyze which practices researchers engage in when they attempt to generate evidence for the excellence of their proposals and CVs for review at the ERC. It will further explore which epistemic, normative and institutional  implications these practices might have. The project will answer these questions by means of qualitive social science inquiry. We will conduct interviews with researchers and with university  personnel who aim to support their application processes; analyze application documents; and conduct participatory observations at coaching events for ERC applicants. The subproject will thus  study how researchers generate evidence for the quality of their work and their scholarly biographies and thereby create and rehearse new criteria and standards for what counts as high-quality  and thus credible science. Given the central role that scientific knowledge plays in evidence practices in a range of social arenas, we believe that such a reflexive analysis of evidence practices in  science, which crucially regulate the distribution of resources and academic esteem, is an important element of the unit’s research program.

TP8: Augenscheinlich exzellent?

Evidenzpraktiken in der Aufbereitung  wissenschaftlicher Forschung und  Biographien für die Beantragung von ERC  Starting und Consolidator Grants


Prof. Dr. Ruth Müller (Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung, TUM)

Thema des Teilprojekts 8 sind Evidenzpraktiken in der Bewertung von wissenschaftlicher Qualität in der Forschungsförderung. Im gegenwärtigen Wissenschaftssystem ist hohe wissenschaftliche Qualität, oft mit dem Begriff der Exzellenz gefasst, sowohl zum vielbesprochenen Ziel wissenschaftlicher und wissenschaftspolitischer Aktivitäten geworden, als auch zur strittigen Frage: Wie kann wissenschaftliche Exzellenz evident gemacht werden? Und wer kann sie mit welchen Mitteln bestimmen, messen und vergleichen?

Als assoziiertes Projekt AP2 der Forschergruppe in Phase 1 habe wir untersucht, wie Gutachter/innen des renommierten Europäischen Forschungsrats (European Research Council, ERC) die  Prozesse der wissenschaftlichen Begutachtung im ERC wahrnehmen und navigieren, und welche Normen und Werte ihre Evidenzpraktiken in der Feststellung der Qualität wissenschaftlicher  Projekte und Biographien anleiten. Dabei zeigte sich ein Spannungsverhältnis zwischen einem prinzipiell heterogenen und kontextabhängigen Verständnis von Exzellenz unter den Gutachter/innen in der abstrakten Diskussion, und einem dominanten Fokus auf standardisierte Performanceindikatoren in der Darstellung der tatsächlichen Bewertungspraktiken.

Im vorliegenden Teilprojekt für die zweite Phase verschiebt sich der Fokus auf die Evidenzpraktiken von Antragsteller/innen beim ERC. Das Teilprojekt verortet seine Analyse in einer  weitreichenderen Dynamik der De- und Restabilisierung von Vorstellungen wissenschaftlicher Qualität, die Ergebnis grundlegender Transformationsprozesse in der Wissenschaft sind und für die  die Schaffung des ERC selbst ein Ausdruck ist. Genauso wie Gutachter/innen stehen Antragsteller/innen vor der Frage, wie sie die hohe wissenschaftlichen Qualität von Forschungsideen und  wissenschaftlichen Biographien evident machen können. Das TP8 erforscht, welchen Evidenzpraktiken Wissenschaftler/innen anwenden, wenn sie Evidenz für die Exzellenz ihrer Anträge  generieren wollen und welche epistemischen, normativen und institutionellen Auswirkungen diese Praktiken haben könnten. Dieses Forschungsziel wird das Projekt mit qualitativen  sozialwissenschaftlichen Methoden verfolgen. Wir werden Interviews mit Antragsteller/innen sowie mit universitären Mitarbeiter/innen, die Wissenschaftler/innen bei der Antragstellung beraten  durchführen, Antragsdokumente analysieren und Coachingevents für Antragsteller/innen teilnehmend beobachten. Das TP8 wird damit beforschen, wie Wissenschaftler/innen Evidenz für die Qualität ihrer Arbeit schaffen und dadurch neue Kriterien und Standards für qualitativ hochwertige und glaubwürdige Wissenschaft erzeugen und einüben. Aufgrund der zentralen Rolle, die wissenschaftliches Wissen für Evidenzpraktiken in verschiedenen Gesellschaftsbereichen spielt, stellte eine solche reflexive Analyse von innerwissenschaftlichen Evidenzpraktiken, die
wissenschaftliche Ressourcen und Renommee entscheidend regulieren, eine wichtiges Element der Forschungsgruppe Evidenzpraktiken dar.